Jeep Wrangler History

jeep-logo-on-greenThe Jeep Wrangler is a compact and mid-size (Wrangler Unlimited models) four-wheel drive off-road and sport utility vehicle (SUV), manufactured by American automaker Chrysler, under its Jeep marque and currently in its third generation. The Wrangler is a direct descendant of the World War II Willys MB by way of the Willys civilian Jeeps (Jeep CJ) of the mid-1940s through 1980s, later produced by Kaiser-Jeep and by American Motors (AMC).

Just like their predecessors, the Willys MB and the Jeep CJ, Wranglers continue to use a separate body and frame, rigid live axles both front and rear, a fold-flat windshield, and can be driven without doors. The Wrangler debuted in 1986 as a revision of the Jeep CJ-7, was revised in 1996, and completely redesigned in 2006. In addition to the nameplate Wrangler, each model received a designation corresponding to its generation: YJ (1986–1995), TJ (1997–2006), TJU’s (commonly known as LJ’s 2003–2006 Unlimited models) and JK (2007–present). Military versions of the Wrangler have carried the J8 designation which was initially dubbed TJL when first produced at Arab American Vehicle’s Egyptian plant. The YJ also had a long wheel-base version, dubbed YJL, produced in Egypt which retained the 2-door design. The YJL is considered as the first predecessor of the JK’s long wheel-base by continuing as TJL which has directly inspired the JK’s 4-door.


Jeep Wrangler & Willys MB 1943
Jeep Wrangler & Willys MB 1943
1988 Jeep YJ Wrangler Sahara
1988 Jeep YJ Wrangler Sahara

Jeep YJ (1987–1995) Powertrain

Engine Year Transmission
2.5 L AMC straight-4 engine 1994-1995 3-speed TF904 automatic
1987-1995 5-speed AX-5 manual
4.2 L AMC straight-6 engine 1987-1990 3-speed TF999 automatic
1987-1989 5-speed BA-10 manual
1989-1990 5-speed AX-15 manual
4.0 L AMC straight-6 engine 1991-1995 3-speed TF999 automatic
1991-1995 5-speed AX-15 manual


Jeep TJ Wrangler Rubicon
2003 Jeep TJ Wrangler Rubicon

Jeep TJ (1997–2006) Powertrain

Engine Year Transmission
2.5 L AMC Straight-4 engine 1997-2002 3-speed 30RH automatic
5-speed AX-5 manual
2.4 L PowerTech 2003-2006 4-speed 42RLE automatic
2003-2004 5-speed NV1500 manual
2005-2006 6-speed NSG370 manual
4.0 L AMC Straight-6 engine 1997-2002 3-speed 32RH automatic
2003-2006 4-speed 42RLE automatic
1997-1999 5-speed AX-15 manual
2000-2004 5-speed NV3550 manual
2005-2006 6-speed NSG370 manual


Jeep JK Wrangler Unlimited
Jeep JK Wrangler Unlimited

Jeep JK (2007–present) Powertrain

Engine Year Transmission
3.8 L EGH 2007-2011 4-speed 42RLE automatic
2007-2011 6-speed NSG370 manual
3.6 L Pentastar 2012–Present 5-speed W5A580 automatic
2012–Present 6-speed NSG370 manual
2.8 L RA 428 2007–2010 5-speed 545RFE automatic
2011–Present 5-speed W5A580 automatic
2007–Present 6-speed NSG370 manual

Info Source:

Jeep History InfoGraphics

Jeep History Timeline
Jeep History Timeline
History Of Jeep Infographic infographicsmania
History Of Jeep Infographic